Small Master Bathroom Makeover

 

IMG_2124[1]

My master bathroom was keeping me up at night.

It was horrific. Stop me if I’m being dramatic but I truly believe any hard-working person should come home to mini-spa at the end of the long day. This is where you wash away the dirt and the stress, this is where you drop off a load, this is where you recharge. This is not where you go to take a cold cramped shower and marvel at how many shades of brown and white there are.

IMG_0868

This is was my starting point. It’s pretty cozy in there, and the sliding glass doors make it seem even smaller than it is. The lack of color in this room makes me want to run out of it as soon as I walk in. The worst part about this room is its name ‘Master Bathroom’. There is nothing ‘Master’ about this.

IMG_0869

The shower pressure reminded me of holding a garden hose over my head on a hot day as a kid. And it was cold. If you’ve seen my hair, then you know washing and conditioning couldn’t possibly be quick for me. It takes at least 45 minutes. (water conservationist, for this reason and otheres, I do it sparingly).

Master Bathroom

I was sure it could be grand despite its size so HGTV has taught me, I started by knocking things down. I knocked down those ulgy shower doors.

Master Bathroom

This is nearly twelve years worth of grime. Between my sister one weekend and myself several following weekends this bathroom was scrubbed and sprayed down at least five times. I probably knocked three years off of my lifespan barring  medical innovations in iron lung type deals.

I’m not sure if you noticed, but EVERYTHING IN THIS ROOM IS BROWN.

So I added a little color:

IMG_0981[1]

IMG_0980[1]

IMG_0927IMG_0933IMG_0935

My favorite thing in this room is the painted tiles. I got the idea from Pinterest. I had priced new tile in this room when planning some of the bigger reno projects, and was quoted at almost 3,000. I saved 3,000 by ordering a couple of stencils at cuttingedge and some chalk paint at Joanne Fabrics like a teacher on a teacher’s budget would. Honestly, I think it’s better. Ceramic tiles are cold and this is something I could redo anytime for less than $50.00. There are plenty of guides online, here’s one @ Remington Avenue

Okay, I couldn’t make it any bigger, but it definitely feels more grand. It’s nearly impossible to walk out of this shower in a bad mood.

IMG_2124[1]

Comment below if you have questions about this project or would like ideas, suggestions, or to give feedback. This was super easy. These projects are typically chosen based on a critical balance of high impact and low skill level. 

Leave a comment